The Vampire Diaries on TV!

CW is creating a new teen television series based on the book series called The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith.  CW is a channel for teen television series.  They created Gossip Girls, One Tree Hill, Smallville and more.  Check out CW's website for more information at http://www.cwtv.com/shows/the-vampire-diaries.  You can catch The Vampire Diaries on Thursday nights at 8 pm starting this Fall! Here are the books in the Vampire Diaries series.  Check them out before you watch the show! The Awakening The Struggle The Fury Dark Reunion

Awesome Summer Reads for Teens 2009 by the Petaluma Library

The Petaluma Teen Librarian went to Kenilworth Middle School to highlight our summer reading program, our teen volunteer program and a few books.  Here are the books they shared with the students.  They picked funny short stories, biographies, thrillers, mysteries, adventure so there is something for everyone.

Bodies from the Ice:  Melting Glaciers and the Recovery of the Past by James M. Deem
The Ranger’s Apprentice #1:  The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
Deep and Dark and Dangerous:  a ghost story by Mary Downing Hahn
Knucklehead:  tall tales & mostly true stories about growing up Scieszka by Jon Scieszka
Team Moon:  how 400,000 people landed Apollo 11 on the Moon by Catherine Thimmesh
Lay-ups and long shots:  an anthology of short stories by Joseph Bruchac, et al.
Peeled by Joan Bauer
Second Sight by Gary Blackwood
Oddest of All by Bruce Coville
Good Brother, Bad Brother by James Giblin
The Black Book of Secrets by F.E. Higgins
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson
Coraline:  graphic novel by Craig P. Russell
The Comet’s Curse by Dom Testa

Sonoma County Teen Idol Grand Finale!

grandfinaleidol.JPG

The grand finale of the Sonoma County Teen Idol was held last Saturday night.  The winners from each branch; Northwest, Rincon Valley, Cloverdale, Petaluma, Healdsburg and Windsor were invited to compete for the grand prize of $200.  Unfortunately, the winner from the Petaluma branch, Beth Anne, came down with a sore throat and wasn’t able to make the competition.  The other contestants performed in front of a crowd of 124 people. 

The judges, Carol Menke, Melissa Kelly, Nancy Cimino and Mark Penn decided that Jessie from Rincon Valley should take home the grand prize.  Jessie sung “Moon Dance” to take home the prize. 

Thank you to Rob Singleton, a DJ from the morning show at KJZY, for MCing the event. 

Congratulations to everyone who participated, P.J. from Northwest, Kelsey from Cloverdale, Danica from Healdsburg and Casandra from Windsor.  Everyone deserves a round of applause. 

A big THANK YOU to the Library Foundation for making this program possible!

We hope to see AND hear from you next year!

Book Review: Marcelo in the Real World

marcelointheworld.jpg  Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Book Review by Librarian Rachel from the Healdsburg Branch

As someone with Asperger’s Syndrome, Marcelo doesn’t see the world as others do. But Marcelo’s father, a powerful and successful lawyer, doesn’t see Marcelo as different from the rest of the world. He proposes that Marcelo spend the summer “in the real world,” working in the mail room at his law firm. Given little choice, Marcelo goes to work and is put in the charge of a young woman named Jasmine.  There, Marcelo faces challenges that anyone can relate to – having to tell true friends from false ones, doing the right thing even when it’s dangerous, and learning what it means to love someone. Unpredictable, moving, and memorable, Marcelo in the Real World gives its readers a new way of viewing the world. Fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska and Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time will enjoy Marcelo in the Real World.

Book Review: Graceling

graceling.jpg

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Review by Librarian Rachel from the Healdsburg branch

Katsa was born into a royal house in a time and place where some people possess an extreme skill, called a Grace. Katsa’s unfortunate Grace is that of killing. She is lightening fast, needs little sleep, is incredibly strong, and has endurance few can imagine. Her uncle, King Randa, is an unscrupulous ruler who uses Katsa’s Grace for his own ends. But Katsa is not content to be a pawn in her uncle’s games. She and her band of friends, called the Council, use their talents and influence to right the wrongs perpetrated by King Randa. It is during a Council mission that Katsa meets another Graceling, Po. This chance encounter sets in motion an adventure that takes Katsa over mountains in a blinding snowstorm and across seas to a rival kingdom. While Graceling is a book full of high adventure, Katsa herself is not a heroine soon forgotten. I find that I enjoy best books whose characters are truly flawed. Katsa must learn to control her Grace, a skill very difficult for someone whose very essence is to kill. The relationship between Katsa and Po is great because they are equals – the boy never rescues the girl and the girl must not out wit the boy in order to win his respect. Fans of Tamora Pierce’s books will love Graceling.

SCL Teen Idol @ Windsor

windsclteenidol.jpg

The Windsor library was the last branch to host the Sonoma County Teen Idol.  The audience was full, with 50 in attendance.  After the scores were tallied the Windsor branch found that there was a three-way tie for 1st place.  Good thing we were prepared for this, the contestants had to do a sudden death sing-off to determine who would go home with the 1st place prize.

Congratulations to the Windsor branch winners:

1st place:  Casandra, with the song “The Climb”
2nd place:  Melissa, with the song “All I Want to Do”
3rd place:  Jodi, with the song “My Heart will go on”

 

The Grand Finale is this Saturday, May 9th @ 7pm.  All the first place winners from the different branches will compete for the Grand Prize of $200.  We hope to see you there!