Book Review: Marcelo in the Real World

marcelointheworld.jpg  Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Book Review by Librarian Rachel from the Healdsburg Branch

As someone with Asperger’s Syndrome, Marcelo doesn’t see the world as others do. But Marcelo’s father, a powerful and successful lawyer, doesn’t see Marcelo as different from the rest of the world. He proposes that Marcelo spend the summer “in the real world,” working in the mail room at his law firm. Given little choice, Marcelo goes to work and is put in the charge of a young woman named Jasmine.  There, Marcelo faces challenges that anyone can relate to – having to tell true friends from false ones, doing the right thing even when it’s dangerous, and learning what it means to love someone. Unpredictable, moving, and memorable, Marcelo in the Real World gives its readers a new way of viewing the world. Fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska and Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time will enjoy Marcelo in the Real World.

One thought on “Book Review: Marcelo in the Real World

  1. Pingback: 2010 Top Ten Best Books for Young Adults | teenspace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>